Oliver Wyman Health Innovation Center Announces New Leaders Alliance

New York, NY – The Oliver Wyman Health Innovation Center (OWHIC) announced today the formation of a new coalition designed to break through the silos in the healthcare industry and bring about real change. The OWHIC Leaders Alliance is comprised of senior executives from all areas of healthcare who have committed to work collaboratively on key issues impacting consumer value and overall industry sustainability.

“Oliver Wyman’s goal is to use creative thinking to address complex industry challenges and support both our clients and society at large. We are delighted to convene this important group and support collaboration around the biggest issues facing healthcare today,” said Scott McDonald, president and CEO of Oliver Wyman Group. 

The Leaders Alliance will focus on major challenges that are impeding healthcare industry progress, where no one organization or sector can adequately address the issue on its own. The group will develop a vision for industry change and outline a broad agenda to achieve that vision. The Leaders Alliance will use the collective power of the group to advance innovative, multi-stakeholder solutions at scale. 

“Our belief is that healthcare can and must compete on value and consumer empowerment, and that the industry must be redesigned from the individual’s perspective,” said Sam Glick, Oliver Wyman partner and co-director of the OWHIC Leaders Alliance. “This vision cannot be achieved without significant cross-industry communication and collaboration, which is why it is so valuable to bring together the distinguished group of healthcare professionals in our new Leaders Alliance.”

“Our goal in forming the OWHIC Leaders Alliance was to identify individuals who are passionate about industry change, but also capable of pushing the industry forward,” said Josh Michelson, Oliver Wyman partner and co-director OWHIC Leaders Alliance. “We are confident these individuals will do just that.”

OWHIC Leaders Alliance members include:

Providers & The New Front Door Title Company
Mary Brainerd President and Chief Executive, Officer, HealthPartners
Mike Dandorph, President, Rush University Medical, Center
Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Iora Health
Niyum Gandhi Executive Vice President and, Chief Population Health Officer, Mount Sinai Health System
David Joyner, Chief Executive Officer Hill Physicians Medical Group
Harry Leider, MD, Chief Medical Officer and Group Vice President, Walgreens
Marty Makary, MD, Surgical Director Pancreas Multidisciplinary Cancer Clinic, Johns Hopkins Medicine
Ido Schoenberg, MD, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, American Well
Chuck Stokes, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System
Grace Terrell, MD, Strategist and Founder CHESS (Cornerstone Health Enablement Strategic Solutions)

Health Plans
Chris Hunter, Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Humana
Bill Lamoreaux, Chief Operating Officer, Emblem Health
Brian Lobley, President, Commercial and Consumer Markets, Independence Blue Cross
René Lerer, MD President, GuideWell and Florida Blue
John Naylor, Senior Vice President, Commercial Markets, Medica
Maureen O’Connor, President/EVP Diversified Businesses, Mosaic Health Solutions/BCBSNC
Jason Robart, Chief Strategy Officer/President and Chief Executive Officer, BCBS Massachusetts/Zaffre Investments
Craig Samitt, MD, Executive Vice President and Chief Clinical Officer, Anthem, Inc.

Jeanne Cohen, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Motive Medical Intelligence
John Kao, Chief Executive Officer and President, Alignment Healthcare
Mike Weissel, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Consumer Solutions Group, Optum

Engagement & Better Living
Sean Duffy, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Omada
Jason Langheier, MD, MPH Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Zipongo

Jeff Margolis, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Welltok
Tom Spann, Co-Founder, Vice Chairman and Chief Operating Officer, Accolade
Donato Tramuto, Chief Executive Officer Healthways
Glen Tullman, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Livongo Health Precision Medicine & Pharma
Rajni Aneja, MD, Global Head, Digital Strategy/Transformation, Novartis
Jim Hudson, Chairman and Co-Founder HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology
Brad Perkins, MD, Chief Medical Officer Human Longevity, Capital Markets & Accelerators
Charles Boorady, Founding Managing Director, Health Catalyst Capital
Esther Dyson, Executive Founder, Way to Wellville
Matt Hermann, Senior Managing Director, Ascension Ventures
Nina Kjellson, General Partner, Canaan Partners
Robbert Vorhoff, Managing Director, General Atlantic