CHESS CEO Grace Terrell, MD, Appointed to HHS Advisory Committee

October 9, 2015

Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), today announced the first appointments to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee. The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 established this committee to provide comments and recommendations to the Secretary of Health and Human Services on physician payment models, giving the Comptroller General responsibility for appointing the committee’s 11 members.

“This committee will be a critical source of information and advice for the Secretary of Health and Human Services as the department considers new payment approaches for Medicare physician services,” Dodaro said. “We were extremely impressed by the caliber of the nominations received for the new committee, and it is with great pleasure that I announce today’s appointees.”

The terms of the committee members are intended to be staggered, with the first set of appointments for terms of 1, 2, or 3 years. Committee members may be appointed for subsequent 3-year terms. 

Jeffrey Bailet, MD, otolaryngologist and President, Aurora Health Care Medical Group; Robert Berenson, MD, Institute Fellow, Urban Institute; Elizabeth Mitchell, President and CEO, Network for Regional Healthcare Improvement; and Kavita Patel, MD, doctor of internal medicine and Nonresident Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution, are appointed for a 3-year term that expires in October, 2018. Rhonda M. Medows, MD, Executive Vice President of Population Health, Providence Health & Services; Harold D. Miller, President and CEO, Center for Healthcare Quality and Payment Reform; Len Nichols, PhD, Director, Center for Health Policy Research and Ethics, George Mason University; and Grace Terrell, MD, MMM, doctor of internal medicine and President and CEO, Cornerstone Health Care, are appointed for a 2-year term that expires in October, 2017. Paul Casale, MD, MPH, interventional cardiologist and Chief of Cardiology, Lancaster General Health; Tim Ferris, MD, primary care internal medicine physician and Senior Vice President for Population Health Management, Partners HealthCare; and Bruce Steinwald, MBA, private consultant, are appointed for a 1-year term that expires in October, 2016. 

For more information, contact Mary Giffin on GAO’s Health Care Team at (202) 512-7114 or GAO’s Office of Public Affairs at (202) 512-4800, or visit the GAO Health Care Advisory Committees web page at

The Government Accountability Office, known as the investigative arm of Congress, is an independent, nonpartisan agency that exists to support Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities. GAO also works to improve the performance of the federal government and ensure its accountability to the American people. The agency examines the use of public funds; evaluates federal programs and policies; and provides analyses, recommendations, and other assistance to help Congress make informed oversight, policy, and funding decisions. GAO provides Congress with timely information that is objective, fact-based, nonideological, fair, and balanced. GAO’s commitment to good government is reflected in its core values of accountability, integrity, and reliability.